Motion Trails v01

This is the first experiment in a webcam study I am doing using Processing. Movement results in circles of colour taken from the webcam footage. More movement results in fewer, larger circles and vice versa.

Click here to see the video on Vimeo

Click here to download the source code

In order to use this code you need to install WinVDIG 1.01. This can be obtained from Dan Shiffman’s site. I would recommend a good quality webcam in a well lit room (I’m using the Logitech Quickcam Pro 5000). Also a powerful machine is required for the best results.

The FrameDifferencing code by Golan Levin was used as a basis for this sketch. This can be found in the Processing examples.

11 Responses to “Motion Trails v01”


  1. 1 Ben Sheppee October 15, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Guessing Windig is windows only ?

  2. 2 jamesalliban October 15, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I’m not sure you need it if you’re on a mac

  3. 3 Jamison Hiner October 17, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    This is awesome too, do you think it would be possible to apply this to a quicktime movie that you have already made, instead of a live web cam? Im new to processing but love everything im seeing. I just want to dig in!!!

  4. 4 jamesalliban October 20, 2008 at 3:08 am

    Thanks Jamison.

    Yes you can create effects such as these to a quicktime movie. It’s just a case of comparing the current and previous pages. I haven’t worked with pre-recorded footage myself but have seen it done in Processing with great results – see http://www.whiteglovetracking.com/gallery.html for some great examples.

  5. 5 kadavy November 30, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Awesome! You inspired me to make this video. I just made a few small changes to your code: http://www.vimeo.com/2382875

  6. 6 jamesalliban December 1, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Always good to see people enjoying and experimenting with the code. Looks like you’re quite a mover too :P

  7. 7 Justin Lincoln September 18, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Thank you so much for this Processing code. I’ve spent several sleepless nights this week tweaking it’s parameters, to see where it might go…I feel like a whole artistic career could be springboarded off this work of yours.

    I’ve already used it to help contextualize “gesture drawing” in an Intro to Visual Art class.

    here are some links to a couple videos and sketches I’ve gotten thus far.

    http://vimeo.com/15021250

    http://vimeo.com/14955625

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/justinlincoln/4989905292/in/set-72157624828579023/

    Sorry if this is so derivative at the moment…I’m hoping to push it somewhere new…and in the meantime turn on my students, and anyone else I can to your work.

  8. 8 jamesalliban September 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    Thanks Justin. It’s always great to see the results of people playing with my code. I look forward to seeing where else you take it.

  9. 9 Zeca December 26, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Hi James, I wish to congratulate you for your excellent work. I used your code in my studies and developed a little game where control is performed by colored objects. This is the link for the job I did. Thanks for sharing your studies to help other people.
    http://zecalabs.com/zlab/?p=34

  10. 10 jamesalliban December 26, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Thanks Zeca. Glad you found it useful


  1. 1 Social Media and Creative Flow « A Furst Blog Trackback on June 9, 2011 at 1:14 am

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Flickr Photos

Mesh study

Mesh study

Mesh study

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

