Gridsaw

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

This was my first dip into the fantastic Arts based C++ toolkit openFrameworks. I actually made this a few months ago but haven’t had time to put the video footage together.

So here’s what’s happening:

This installation attempts to reconstruct the camera images from a collection of 3000 square sections taken from previous frames. The result is a chaotic animated grid that continually attempts to achieve order.

Each visible grid item compares its corresponding region of the camera frame with 10 randomly selected squares from the collection. The closest match is compared with the current visible square and and the closest of these two is displayed.

If you stay still for long enough, the camera image will appear to completely rebuild itself.

Phew! Confused? If so, feel free to have a look at the source code.

6 Responses to “Gridsaw”


  1. 1 Lawrie June 24, 2010 at 9:33 am

    I like it! It’s interesting to know what’s going on in the code – the random checking and comparing. I’ve not had much chance to play with OpenFrameworks yet, so I’ll definitely be grabbing the source to have a look through. Thanks!

  2. 2 jamesalliban June 24, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Thanks Lawrie. I’d definitely recommend getting into OF. It took me about a month to get started with it and build this application. And all in my spare time!

    This book was very useful – http://oreilly.com/catalog/9780596154158.

  3. 3 Lawrie June 24, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Cheers James, I’ll give it a look. I picked up an Arduino a couple of weeks ago, and have been delving more into Processing, so it sounds like a good all-rounder.
    By the way – I’ve been working on an Air app in my spare time, which I’m going to tidy up and release soon. When I get anything up on Vimeo, I’ll send a link over for possible Tech-Arts inclusion :-)

  4. 4 jizz June 28, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    sweet, love the bits of your face appearing in odd places

    Anis doing the slo-mo robot is hot

  5. 5 jamesalliban June 28, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Thanks? That guy’s got some serious moves.

  6. 6 Anicho June 29, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Woo and now im jigsaw’d up to ahaha thanks jizz and james for the comments I got moves giggidy…


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Flickr Photos

Mesh study

Mesh study

Mesh study

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

