Augmatic open source repository

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

I’m a big advocate of open source. Sharing your work can improve the software, the community and your Karma levels. It’s also a great way to give back to the giants whose shoulders we stand on.

I’ve decided to go open source with all of my FLAR work to date*. This body of work can be found at the Augmatic Google code repository. There are almost 20 FLAR projects here including:

AR Business card
E Sting submission
Augmented Ribbons
Wallpaper AR Issue
Damashek AR Xmas Card
Fractal’10 Ident

I hope they come in handy for those learning AR and 3D in Flash. Make sure you do the right thing though. Simply changing a couple of colours and reselling my hard work is not the done thing.

If anyone manages to improve any of these projects, please let me know and I’ll update them with full credit.

*This doesn’t include the LearnAR project as the client purchased an ARToolworks licence.

37 Responses to “Augmatic open source repository”


  1. 2 Evio May 6, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    You are best!

  2. 3 jamesalliban May 6, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Thanks guys. Been planning on doing so for months. Always too busy. Have fun!

  3. 4 digitalmotiondesign May 6, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    thanks a ton! u are the best!

  4. 5 Taras Kuba May 6, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks a lot. Perfect way to move forward and teach another — go open source.
    Just few weeks ago we were discussing how’s your Fractal works.
    We are doing thing with similar principle but not same idea. Thank you for sharing.

  5. 6 erick May 7, 2010 at 12:56 am

    Thank you very much! Inspirational & instructive! you rock😉

  6. 7 shachar oz May 7, 2010 at 9:33 am

    fantastic mate!🙂
    good karma back at you.🙂
    same karma spirit fell on me too and i opened a new open-source blog of my own. soon will update it as well.

  7. 8 jamesalliban May 7, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Thanks all

    @shachar oz Thanks for the Karma🙂 Good luck with your open source endeavours.

  8. 9 felipe May 7, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    good work …. you are my hero
    greetings from mexico good luck

  9. 10 CK May 10, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Thanks a trillion…

  10. 11 Daniel May 10, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    James, I’m converting your projects to Flex but I don’t know why, in all the projects, if I move the marker to left, the container moves to right and viceversa. I see the FLARManager XML and set true/false the mirror but the issue persist. I see the code too but I don’t see anything that can bring me the answer.
    Do you know what happen?
    By the way, I really want to see the code of E4 and AR_Ribbons, I hope you can share soon in the SVN🙂

    Thank you Jim!!

  11. 12 jamesalliban May 10, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Hi Daniel. There might be a couple of projects where the mirroring isn’t taken from the XML but is hard coded. You should find this where the transform property of the scene container is set to the transformMatrix of the marker. Other than that I’m not sure.

    I didn’t realise the E4 String wasn’t in there. I’ll see if I can find time to add it over the next week. The AR_Ribbons app is in the Wallpaper project.

  12. 13 alex May 12, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Hello, where are the files? in the repository seems to be nothing and there is a warning:

    “Project Hosting will be READ-ONLY Wednesday at 7:30am PDT due to brief network maintenance.”

    Thank you

  13. 14 jamesalliban May 12, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    You need to use Subversion. The URL to browse the repository is on this page https://code.google.com/p/augmatic/source/checkout

    It looks like there is network maintenance though so you might have to wait until this is complete.

  14. 15 alex May 12, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    ok, Thanks a lot Jim!

  15. 16 kiwiartz May 13, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Dear Blog Owner,
    I admire the work you put into your site. I came across it and noticed that there are some similarities with our project. KiwiArt is the name of our website, in which we invest a lot of time. Please take a second to take a look at our domain. We are a Free Art Classifieds website that allows artists of all crafts to post their services or works free of charge (without registration, advertisements or hidden fees)! If our mission and website philosophy interests you, it would be extremely helpful and appreciated if we could obtain a possible link from your site. If you’d like to give us a hand, you may always contact us at kiwiart@kiwiart.com. If you’d like anything in return from our end, we are always open to negotiations. Thank you for time and consideration.

    Sincerely,
    Paris Fotis & Matheos Zaharopoulos
    http://www.kiwiart.com

  16. 17 alex May 14, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Finally i have downloaded the files but i don´t know how to compile it, I normally use flex to compile my own projects. But i don´t know how to compile this files. Can you tell me what program or plugin i need to compile the projects?

    thanks!

  17. 18 jamesalliban May 14, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    I used FDT

  18. 19 alex May 14, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    OK, Thanks again Jim!

  19. 20 shane May 21, 2010 at 3:48 am

    I am new to this about a week in and am starting to figure things out I was hoping you could answer some basic questions to help me get jump started, I downloaded everything in your http://augmatic.googlecode.com/svn/trunk folder using subversion.

    How do I open you projects? I have built 2 basic working models based off of other peoples tutorials but I have not opened one that has been built already. I tried going trunk/Flash/(any of your projects)/client/trunk/ but then where do I go from here?

    I am using FlashBuilder4 is there any way to import the whole AS project in there so I can work with it?

    You have done some really amazing stuff I aspire to get to your level one day, I also think it is really great you have made your work available to the public so people like me can learn from it so Thanks again!

  20. 21 jamesalliban May 21, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Thanks Shane. I used FDT to build these projects. It should be simple to open and build them all using this softeare. I don’t use Flex/Flash Builder so can’t help you.

  21. 22 shane May 21, 2010 at 4:15 pm

    Ok based on your recommendation I downloaded the demo of FDT to test it out and see if I like it but I still can not seem to figure out how to open one of your projects. Can you tell me how to pull a project in to FDT?

    Also I can not seem to find a way to run any of the AR locally I searched the directories for the .swf that contains the project but all I can find is the pre-loaders. Am I missing something?

  22. 23 jamesalliban May 21, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Here’s a link to the FDT user guide:

    http://fdt.powerflasher.com/blog/wp-content/fdtuserguide.pdf

    Also have a look at the forum:

    http://www.fdt.powerflasher.com/forum/

  23. 24 adjie arjanggi June 3, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    hi james,
    long time not write to you.. and its been a while im not working on AR project. but your opensource will be handy for me. even i have to learn using fdt.. i promise to sent you my 3d AR, so sorry i finding difficulty in time management. but i will sent it for you..

    thank you very much.

  24. 26 Robert June 21, 2010 at 7:25 am

    Hi James, would you kindly be able to convert it to Flash IDE version, specifically the fractal ones? I have spent few days for it and I can’t get my ant working as I don’t develop alot on FDT. Please help. Thank you.

  25. 27 Robert June 21, 2010 at 7:26 am

    This is my last trial in making it IDE. some of the code like Logging has changed to uk.co…
    [FLARManager] Initing camera ‘USB Video Class Video’.
    TypeError: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.
    at uk.co.augmatic.locators::ServiceLocator$/getService()
    at fractal.arScene.container::TriangleContainer/setupBitmapData()
    at fractal.arScene.container::TriangleContainer/init()
    at fractal.arScene.container::TriangleContainer()
    at fractal.arScene.container::Container/setup3DObjects()
    at fractal.arScene.container::Container/init()
    at fractal.arScene.container::Container()
    at fractal.arScene::ARScene/setupAway3D()
    at fractal.arScene::ARScene/addedToStageHandler()
    at flash.display::DisplayObjectContainer/addChild()
    at fractal::App/onFlarManagerInited()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEventFunction()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEvent()
    at com.transmote.flar::FLARManager/checkForInitComplete()
    at com.transmote.flar::FLARManager/onPatternsLoaded()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEventFunction()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEvent()
    at com.transmote.flar.pattern::FLARPatternLoader/checkForLoadCompletion()
    at com.transmote.flar.pattern::FLARPatternLoader/onPatternLoaded()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEventFunction()
    at flash.events::EventDispatcher/dispatchEvent()
    at flash.net::URLLoader/onComplete()
    [FLARManager] Initial camera validation complete…
    [FLARManager] Validated camera ‘USB Video Class Video’.

    • 28 jamesalliban June 21, 2010 at 9:50 am

      Just to be clear on this, I won’t be modifying any of this code on request as I am always busy with new projects. However, if you manage to set up any of these projects in another dev environment or make any improvements I will be happy to add these to the repository with full credit.

      I also don’t mind answering the odd question. It sounds like you’re not adding the external libraries to the classpath.

  26. 29 ZoiX August 9, 2010 at 4:03 am

    Hi James,

    I’ve converted too many of these projects to Flex, if you are in agree, I can send you vía e-mail😉

    And again, thank you for share your skills.

    • 30 jamesalliban August 9, 2010 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks ZoiX that would be great. Send me a link and I’ll put them into the repository when I get a chance.

  27. 31 ZoiX August 12, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    James,

    For now I am having problems with your famous business card project, I don’t know if you remember the issue in Flex: I move the marker to left and the container move to right. In the rest of your projects I just change by false or true lines like

    setupPV3D(isMirrored);
     and works perfectly. 
    
    In the augmented reality business card I don't know how to change that. Anyway I leave the Flex project in the link.
    
    In the link below you'll find some of your projects while I convert the rest of them.
    
    For Flex developpers: The ActionScript folder is the same CodeLibs folder. In the settings just replace the path for the CodeLibs folder that you can find in the SVN. Anyway, the same CodeLibs folder is inside Fractal Ident project.
    
    Again thank you Jim ;)
    
    www.aumentality.com/augmatic
  28. 32 ZoiX August 12, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Uhm, please close the pre tag and delete this comment. Sorry😦

  29. 33 bob October 3, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Hi James, this a great idea to share your work; i’m very happy to see that from programmers, but i’m looking for the “Fracture” code open source, and i found nothing yet. Can you help me please?

  30. 34 jamesalliban October 3, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I won’t be releasing the source for that particular application however I do intend to release the code for the sliding interface if I get time.

  31. 35 steff October 6, 2010 at 12:02 pm

    Hi James, thanks for sharing your projects. I’m doing a project with FLARManager myself and I’m having problems with my marker detection and display performance. When I try and look at your projects, they seem to run perfectly fluent even with lots of animation in it.
    I already asked Eric Socolofsky on his blog what could cause this (http://words.transmote.com/wp/flarmanager/comment-page-5/#comment-13871) and now I’m wondering if you had the same (or at least some😉 ) problems yourself.
    Did you already post some problems and maybe solutions somewhere on your blog or could you maybe tell us some troubles you might had and how you solved them?
    Would be nice if you could tell the intelectually challenged of us how masterpieces can be done.
    I’m especially interested in, optimizing display performance, marker tracking, designing custom markers, 3D animations vs. Collada files and dealing with performance problems because of 3D animations.
    I searched the web and forums a lot about these problems and my last chance might be asking someone who already solved them.
    BIG CHEERS

  32. 36 jamesalliban October 6, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Hi Steff

    Here are a few tips:

    Marker detection:

    Make sure your marker adheres completely to these specifications – http://www.squidder.com/2009/03/05/for-nerds-only-custom-flar-markers-explained/
    Make sure your marker is a good size – 6 cms works well at about 2 feet from the camera. The further the marker is from the cam, the more wobble you will encounter.
    Shoddy cameras can result in poor marker detection. If you can alter the seetings, make sure the contrast is fairly high.
    The lighting in the room should be ambient. Harsh or low lighting can cause lots of problems.
    If you find there is lots of wobble (and I have found this in the past), increasing the smoothing is one solution but this lowers the ‘stickiness’ of the 3d scene to the marker.
    When creating cusom markers here – http://flash.tarotaro.org/blog/2008/12/14/artoolkit-marker-generator-online-released/ I’d recommend sticking to 16×16 or below.

    3D

    I started off using Papervision but have since moved to Away3D. I’d definitely recommend using this library and possibly looking into Away3DLite for a performance boost.
    I’ve never worked with animated 3D in Flash. All animation is handled with Actionscript. In fact I’ve never used Collada. I import my files to Blender and export directly to an AS3 class using this plugin – http://www.rozengain.com/blog/2008/01/02/export-your-blender-objects-straight-to-away3d-papervision3d-and-sandy/.

    Resources

    Here are a few posts of resources:
    https://jamesalliban.wordpress.com/2009/11/28/lfpug-presentation-resources/
    https://jamesalliban.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/are2010-presentation-resources/
    A lot of these will be repeated but there are a few additions in the second one

    Hope this helps you

    James


  1. 1 James Alliban Goes OpenSource « Audio Visual Interactive Trackback on May 9, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Flickr Photos

150909_Capture_2

150909_IMG_3419

150909_Capture_1

More Photos

