The latest

OK lots of things to mention so I thought I’d be lazy and lump them into one blog post.

String Progress

I’ve spent the last month beta testing a new iPhone tracking technology called String. I’ll leave the details for a future blog post, but I will say that it is one of, if not the fastest and most accurate mobile trackers I have seen to date. Also, importantly, there is no license fee for artists and designers wanting to experiment with and publish apps using the tech. It’s about to be released any day now. Definitely one to watch.

I’m currently experimenting with generative art in AR space using OpenGL ES. Should the app be accepted into the store, it will be included in the Square Art exhibition. The theme is Blank Canvas, which ties in freakishly well with what I have in mind.

Young Creative Council

I just had an article published on the Young Creative Council (AKA YCC London) blog. Every week they get a guest author to write about whatever they like. I used it as an opportunity to write about my work, my inspirations and my thoughts on AR in terms of the current state of play, the future and my approach to it as a platform for art. I don’t tend to use my blog as an outlet for those sorts of ramblings so it was nice to write down my thoughts on these matters for a new audience.

You can read the article here. Big thanks to Laura and Emma for sorting this out.

AR Summit

I’ve been asked to both speak at and be on the advisory board for the AR Summit. This event is penned to be the biggest augmented reality conference in the UK and is taking place in London in June. If you don’t fancy the presentations, there will be an exhibition hall showcasing the latest and greatest in the world of AR. Definitely worth a visit.

It’s a huge honour to be given this opportunity. I’m looking forward to having a say in the organisation of the event. Hopefully I can inject a creative edge into the proceedings.

Look here for other upcoming speaking engagements.

Web Designer Magazine article

I was featured in this month’s Web Designer magazine. The article is titled “Whatever happened to Augmented Reality?”. I attempt to answer this question and give my thoughts on current trends, mobile AR and the future. I’ve been informed that I also had an interview published in the iPhone special of Computer Arts Projects about my iPhone app Fracture last month. I didn’t actually manage to get a copy so if anyone has the issue and a few spare minutes I’d really appreciate a scan.

8 Responses to “The latest”


  1. 1 m0j1 January 30, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    STRING was very interesting on demos . I’m planning to work my thesis on AR .you think this technology can work with ipod touch 4g?

    • 2 jamesalliban January 30, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      Yeah it’s a great technology and the demos are very cool, particularly Scrawl.

      I don’t see why String apps wouldn’t work on an iPod touch. You’d be better off asking them directly. You can contact them here.

  2. 3 laura January 31, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Thanks for the YCC big up. Was great to have you do the score and spread some AR goodness🙂

  3. 4 Mike January 31, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    String works with iPhone 3 upwards although framerate is best with 3GS and above. iPod 4g works well too. Needs cameras obviously which rules out other iPods and iPad (currently…)

  4. 5 jamesalliban January 31, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    @laura No probs.

    @Mike Thanks for clearing that up.

  5. 6 santiago bernal February 17, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    congrats james,
    im gonna be on fractal event in medellin.

    i hope to see u here.

  6. 7 jamesalliban February 17, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    Thanks Santiago. I look forward to seeing you there.


  1. 1 Tweets that mention The latest « James Alliban -- Topsy.com Trackback on January 31, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Flickr Photos

150909_Capture_2

150909_IMG_3419

150909_Capture_1

More Photos

